Home    Donkey Kong Country OST Recreated

Jammin' Sam Miller

Donkey Kong Country OST Recreated

Musique Pour La Danse


2LP Yellow $38
  • North America Sales Only
  • Limited Edition Banana Yellow Double Vinyl
  • First ever physical release
  • A faithful HD recreation in all its uncompressed glory
  • Remastered for vinyl


Musique Pour La Danse is proud to present its first release in the field of video game OSTs, with the first-ever physical release of the much appreciated and globally followed Donkey Kong Country OST restoration / recreation project led by Louisiana-based composer and producer Jammin’ Sam Miller.

As far as video game soundtracks go, the OST for 1994 SNES game Donkey Kong Country has always been a fan-favorite. Composed mostly by David Wise, with additional tracks by Eveline Fischer and Robin Beanland, it featured atmospheric music with melodic and percussive elements, spanning many genres and vibes with many brilliant musical moments in the OST that have not only left a mark on generations of gamers, but have also earned this OST recognition far beyond the usual video game OST spheres.

Indeed, from 1940s swing, to atmospheric ambient matching the various landscapes encountered in the game, via danceable bangers and highly evocative library pieces, this OST has it all. However, hardware limitations at the time meant that the music on the SNES cartridge was highly compressed and difficult to enjoy without having a console handy.

Enter Jammin’ Sam Miller. Using hex SPC data crudely converted to MIDI, the producer painstakingly recreated DKC’s soundtrack note by note, by finding the original equipment used to create it. He then translated the MIDI into a modern studio context, adding in keyboard samples, and re-mixing the sounds with added effect and mastering.

As a result, the covers he crafted can be considered faithful HD recreations of the originals. They are breathtakingly musical, elevating the original OST to new heights and further underlining how brilliant it always was, while also making the point that video game soundtracks should not be looked down upon, quite to the contrary.

Remastered for vinyl, officially licensed and presented in a limited edition banana yellow double LP.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Jammin' Sam Miller Theme
  • 2 Jammin' Sam Miller Simian Segue
  • 3 Jammin' Sam Miller Jungle Groove
  • 4 Jammin' Sam Miller Bonus Room Blitz
  • 5 Jammin' Sam Miller Cranky's Theme
  • 6 Jammin' Sam Miller Cave Dweller Concert
  • 7 Jammin' Sam Miller Aquatic Ambience
  • 8 Jammin' Sam Miller Funky's Fugue
  • 9 Jammin' Sam Miller Candy's Love Song
  • 10 Jammin' Sam Miller Bad Boss Boogie
  • 12 Jammin' Sam Miller Life In The Mines
  • 13 Jammin' Sam Miller Mine Cart Madness
  • 14 Jammin' Sam Miller Misty Menace
  • 15 Jammin' Sam Miller Voices of the Temple
  • 16 Jammin' Sam Miller Treetop Rock
  • 17 Jammin' Sam Miller Forest Frenzy
  • 18 Jammin' Sam Miller Northern Hempisheres
  • 19 Jammin' Sam Miller Ice Cave Chant
  • 20 Jammin' Sam Miller Fear Factory
  • 21 Jammin' Sam Miller Gangplank Galleon
  • 22 Jammin' Sam Miller Game Over
  • 23 Jammin' Sam Miller The Credits Concerto