Masatoshi Yanagi,EvE,Hakushu Kitahara,Shinpei Nakayama,Ujo Noguchi

Ghostwire: Tokyo (Boxset)

Release Notes
  • 60 tracks specially mastered for vinyl
  • Black heavyweight LPs
  • Deluxe 3mm spined inner sleeves
  • Rigid board slip case
  • Art by Tango Gameworks
Ghostwire: Tokyo (Boxset)
1 of 1

Face the unknown… assuming they have a face.

A paranormal partnership has formed between Bethesda, Tango Gameworks and Laced Records as we present the dark Japanese electronica of Ghostwire: Tokyo on vinyl record.
Tango set out to reflect the juxtaposition of modernity and history in Tokyo, where neon high rises and historic temples stand side by side. Composer Masatoshi Yanagi’s goal was to express this unique game world by utilising the three wind instruments of Gagaku (ancient Japanese court music): shō, hichiriki, and ryuteki (dragon flute). He also explored traditional instruments including the shakuhachi (bamboo flute) and the chappa (cymbals), as well as traditional musical scales. These elements intermingle with modern, tenebrous synthesised sounds and distorted waveforms.

Singer EvE performs the disquieting nursery songs that punctuate several of the disc sides, injecting the overall score with a child-like eeriness.

This Standard Edition contains vinyl blacker than the Tokyo night sky. 60 tracks have been specially mastered for vinyl and will be pressed onto heavyweight discs. These come in printed inner sleeves that in turn fit into a deluxe rigid box. The sleeve artwork by the team at Tango Gameworks fuses cutting edge graphic design with folkloric J-horror."