Home    WaJazz: Japanese Jazz Spectacle Vol.II - Deep, Heavy and Beautiful Jazz from Japan 1962-1985 - The King Records Masters - Selected by Yusuke Ogawa (Universounds) (LITA EXCLUSIVE)

Various Artists

WaJazz: Japanese Jazz Spectacle Vol.II - Deep, Heavy and Beautiful Jazz from Japan 1962-1985 - The King Records Masters - Selected by Yusuke Ogawa (Universounds) (LITA EXCLUSIVE)



2LP Black $42
2LP Clear $45
  • LITA EXCLUSIVE: Crystal Clear Vinyl
  • Essential follow-up in the highly acclaimed WaJazz series, selected and compiled by renowned Japanese jazz expert Yusuke Ogawa, owner of the Universounds record store in Tokyo
  • Gatefold 180g heavy double vinyl LP, reverse board print. Comes with extensive track-by-track liner notes by Yusuke Ogawa
  • All tracks licensed by King Record Co., Ltd., Tokyo, Japan
  • Mastering and lacquer cut by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion Cutting Lab, Helsinki, Finland
  • Artwork by Nker


Following the highly acclaimed first volume in the series, Japanese jazz expert Yusuke Ogawa continues the WaJazz exploration with another essential collection of music that contains something uniquely Japanese — focusing this time on the King Records catalog. Featuring timeless music by Isao Suzuki, Toshiaki Yokota, Akira Miyazawa, Takeru Muraoka, Yasuaki Shimizu, Masahiko Togashi, George Otsuka, and more!

“It is my great pleasure to introduce you to the second volume of the “Japanese Jazz Spectacle” series. Following the first compilation which focused on recordings from the Nippon Columbia catalog, this time we are digging into the King Records archives. It is almost impossible to capture the whole picture of Wa-Jazz in a couple of compilation albums since it is such a broad and deep genre, however, by extracting tracks from the Nippon Columbia and King Records collections – both labels having an extensive archive of jazz music – we may be able to glimpse a part of its allure and essence. This time again, I have made the music selection with this idea in mind. The music in this compilation was recorded between 1962 and 1985 and is a brief history of Japanese jazz on King Records. Listening is believing, so I hope these tracks will capture your heart and that you will enjoy the charms of Japanese jazz.” – Yusuke Ogawa

Yusuke Ogawa has been running the Universounds store in Tokyo since 2001, specializing in jazz and second-hand, rare, and collector records. He is also a reissue supervisor, label manager, DJ, and music writer. Known for his vast musical knowledge, eye for detail, and archival skills, Ogawa has worked on more than 250 reissues and compilations – including the highly praised Deep Jazz Reality and Project Re:Vinyl series. He is the co-author of the Wa-Jazz Disc Guide and the Independent Black Jazz of America books.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Toshiaki Yokota & The Beat Generation - Clair Deluge
  • 2 Tadao Sawai, Toshiyuki Miyama & New Herd Orchestra - Constant Rain
  • 3 Akira Miyazawa - Yamame
  • 4 Various Artists - Ma Mere L'Oye
  • 5 Masao Yagi - Blossom In The Water
  • 6 Masahiko Togashi, Isao Suzuki - A Day Of The Sun
  • 7 Yasuko Nagamine, Yasuaki Shimizu - Summer Wind
  • 8 Hideo Shiraki - Sayonara Blues
  • 9 Masahiko Togashi & His Improvisation Jazz Orchestra - Desireless
  • 10 Takeru Muraoka & His New Group - Lady Boogie
  • 11 Yoshio Ikeda - Down To The Sea
  • 12 George Otsuka Quintet - Loving You