Home    Ultimate Alternative Wavers

Built to Spill

Ultimate Alternative Wavers
Cassette Tape $12
2LP Black $23
LP Gold $22
  • 20th anniversary
  • First time ever on Vinyl
  • Audiophile pressing w/ lacquers cut by John Golden and vinyl pressed at RTI
  • Remastered from original tapes
  • Old school ‘tip-on’ gatefold jacket with insert
  • Black vinyl version


Modern Classics Recordings is proud to present for the first time on vinyl Built to Spill’s debut album, Ultimate Alternative Wavers. Showcasing a nod to Sonic Youth and Dinosaur Jr, UAW was recorded at Audio Lab Studios in the band’s hometown of Boise, Idaho and soon after released on Seattle imprint C/Z Records in 1993. Featuring former Treepeople member Doug Martsch, Caustic Resin’s Brett Netson, and drummer Ralf Youtz, the album features total rippers like the 9-minute “Built Too Long Parts 1, 2 & 3” while the hazy daze of “Nowhere Nothin’ Fuckup” lyrically pays homage to Velvet Underground’s “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'.” While it may have been the band’s debut, UAW still remains a special time capsule from one of modern rock’s greatest bands who are still going strong after 21 years.

Artist Bio

Built to Spill is an American indie rock band formed in 1992 in Boise, Idaho. The original members consisted of former Treepeople guitarist/vocalist Doug Martsch, Brett Netson, and Ralf Youtz.

The group’s debut album, Ultimate Alternative Wavers, was recorded at Audio Lab Studios in the band’s hometown and was soon after released on Seattle imprint C/Z Records in 1993. After the release of Ultimate Alternative Wavers, Netson and Youtz were replaced by Brett Nelson and Andy Capps for their 1994 album There’s Nothing Wrong with Love. A compilation album called The Normal Years followed, which included recordings by both line-ups. Martsch signed the group to Warner Bros. in 1995, but unlike many artists signed to major labels, the deal the band brokered allowed them to retain a large degree of creative control over future albums. Built to Spill produced its first major label release in 1997 with Perfect from Now On. Built to Spill has since released a handful of full-lengths and endlessly toured the world. 

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 The First Song
  • 2 Three Years Ago Today
  • 3 Revolution
  • 4 Shameful Dread
  • 5 Nowhere Nothin' Fuckup
  • 6 Get A Life
  • 7 Built To Spill
  • 8 Lie For A Lie
  • 9 Hazy
  • 10 Built Too Long (Parts 1, 2 & 3)