Home    The Science

Main Source

The Science



LP Black $22.50 $45
  • Shelved for 30 years
  • First official Release
  • From Legendary Hip-hop Group Main Source
  • Featuring Original MC Large Professor
  • Comes with Japanese obi-strip
  • Two editions available: Standard Edition Black Vinyl LP and Special Edition Translucent Orange LP + Black 7inch
  • LP + 7" includes two additional tracks: “Fakin’ The Funk [Unreleased]” and “Timez”


Formed by Toronto DJs/producers K.Cut, Sir Scratch, and Queens MC/producer Large Professor, Main Source was one of the seminal groups of the East Coast’s hip-hop scene in 90’s. The original trio’s first and only album Breaking Atoms, was released in 1991 to critical and commercial acclaim, before Large Professor left the group. They recorded a second album, The Science, and even ran ads for it in The Source, before the group’s breakup led to its indefinite shelving. Until now!

P-VINE RECORDS is proud to announce that we’re giving The Science its long deserved official release, almost three decades after it was initially set for release. This gem among gems of 90’s hip-hop, which had never seen so much as a bootleg release, is going to be released on Analog vinyl (1xLP)!

With tracks such as “Bootleg”, “Raise Up, “Time (Alternate Mix)”, and “Hella Vision”, taken from master tapes owned by the three original members, as well as well-loved classics like “Fakin’ The Funk” and “How My Man Went Down In The Game”, this record is sure to be killer. Large Professor’s flows are as smooth and lyrical as ever, and the sample-heavy beats that the producers lay down are supreme. Trust me when I say, that this is one record you’re not going to want to miss.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Time Pt. 2
  • 2 Interlude one
  • 3 How My Man Went Down In The Game
  • 4 Interlude two
  • 5 Hellavision
  • 6 Interlude three
  • 7 Raise Up
  • 8 Interlude four
  • 9 Looking At The Front Door [Uncut]
  • 10 Interlude five
  • 11 Fakin' The Funk [Unreleased]
  • 12 Interlude six
  • 13 Bootlegging
  • 14 Time
  • 15 Outro Interlude
  • 16 Fakin' The Funk [Sound Track Version] - Bonus Track