Home    The Bishop

Norman Williams And The One Mind Experience

The Bishop
LP Black $39

SHIPS BY 2024-04-28

  • 180 gram vinyl in a standard sleeve
  • Recorded at Blossom Studios, San Francisco, CA on October 10, 1976
  • Remastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London


“Bishop Norman Williams is an amazing musician. He not only has command of his instrument and music, but a great spirit that reflects a knowledge and love of his people and what they give the world—the same spirit shared by Sachmo, Bird, and Trane. Reign on, Bishop.” — Michael Howell

“Bishop Norman Williams is one of those unique talents in music. He has the gift of being able to say what he wants and at the same time say something always significant. He has many influences because he is open to all of the good music of the world. When you hear him play, you feel that he has assembled all of these ‘world ideas’ in music to speak through his horn.” — John Handy

“It’s time. It’s time for all to hear the Bishop proclaim spiritual truths in his church, the One Mind Temple, dedicated to the spirit of John Coltrane. The time is also overdue for all to hear the Bishop proclaim musical truths through the medium of his alto saxophone. My first few gigs in 1962 were with the Bishop’s band. I’ll never forget what an inspiration it was for me learning how to play while standing next to the Bishop, who already had it together. I’m sure after hearing the Bishop, you will also agree that his time has come.” — Eddie Henderson

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Figure Eight
  • 2 Terry's Song
  • 3 Don't Go 'Way Mad
  • 4 Christina
  • 5 Mr. Peabody
  • 6 Trane's Paradise
  • 7 Ole' Brown