Home    Tao Fire

Mong Tong

Tao Fire

Guruguru Brain


LP Black $27
  • First released in 2023
  • Pressed on black vinyl
  • Samples sounds from the streets of Southeast Asia


Mong Tong’s latest album, “Tao Fire 道火”, not only continues the idea behind their previous work, “Indies 印”, but also incorporates more local elements such as gamelan music, phin guitar, tabla drums, and Taiwan sisomi.

While sampling more sounds from the street of Southeast Asia, including weddings, funerals, and traditional celebrations, Mong Tong again explores different folk sounds around Austronesia.
Different to their last Guruguru Brain release “Mystery 秘神”, “Tao Fire 道火” will take us to a land that is both familiar and fresh. Feel the hot, the crowd, humidity, and ecstasy. This time, welcome to Mong Tong’s subtropical world.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Mystery Death
  • 2 Tropic Sub
  • 3 Areca
  • 4 Forest Show
  • 5 Taboo
  • 6 Thung Beat
  • 7 Mountain Pond
  • 8 Naihe Bridge
  • 9 Fire Wind Wheel
  • 10 Gold Earth
  • 11 Hanoi
  • 12 Ghost Island
  • 13 Rain Maker