Home    Sweetkorn

Michael Hurley


Mississippi Records


LP Black $18
  • Newly revised edition with additional recording done at the Rope Room, Astoria Oregon in June, July 2021
  • Pressed on Black Vinyl
  • Folk + Rock


Michael Hurley worked on this new version of his 2012 classic Sweetkorn over the course of the last five years, creating a whole new record with the original Sweetkorn as its base. A new sequence, reimagined track list, new mixes and even new instrumentation.

Artist Bio

If you haven’t been following his career since the 1970’s (when he was collaborating with the likes of the Holy Modal Rounders and Jesse Colin Young) then you probably discovered him in the past couple of years via Devendra Banhart’s & Andy Cabic’s label Gnomonsong, who have released Hurley’s recent recordings.

Hurley’s debut album, First Songs, was recorded for Folkways Records in 1965 on the same reel-to-reel machine that taped Lead Belly’s Last Sessions. He was discovered by blues and jazz historian Frederick Ramsey III, and subsequently championed by boyhood friend Jesse Colin Young, who released Hurley’s next two album on The Youngbloods’ Warner Brother’s imprint, Raccoon. How’s that for cred?

In the 1970s, Hurley made three albums for Rounder Records; Have Moicy! (1975), Long Journey (1976), and Snockgrass (1980) which after being out of print for decades are now being reissued on Light In The Attic Records.

In recent years, tours with Son Volt and high praise from younger performers like Lucinda Williams, Vic Chesnutt, Calexico, and Cat Power, have increased Hurley’s legend.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Ohio Blues
  • 2 The Rue Of Ruby Whores
  • 3 Barbera Allen
  • 4 The Question
  • 5 Blockade Stillers
  • 6 Edinburgh Lag
  • 7 Negatory Romance
  • 8 Got Over It
  • 9 O My Stars
  • 10 Mona Lisa
  • 11 The End Of The Road