Home    Such Sweet Thunder

Duke Ellington And His Orchestra

Such Sweet Thunder

Pure Pleasure


LP Black $39
  • Mono Recording
  • 1LP 180g 33rpm / standard sleeve


This music counts among Ellington’s most well-realized ‘concept projects’, all inspired by Shakespeare’s work and filled with memorable melodies and ample opportunities for solos by Cat Anderson, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, and Quentin Jackson.

The Ellington-Strayhorn compositions treat their soloists like actors doing scenes and, in effect, playing parts, even quoting lines after a fashion — Clark Terry ‘plays’ “Puck” in “Up and Down, Up and Down (I Will Lead Them Up and Down)”, and Johnny Hodges turns in one of the most sensuous performances of his career for “Half the Fun,” from “Antony and Cleopatra”.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Such Sweet Thunder
  • 2 Sonnet For Caesar
  • 3 Sonnet To Hank Cinq
  • 4 Lady Mac
  • 5 Sonnet In Search Of A Moor
  • 6 The Telecasters
  • 7 Up And Down, Up And Down (I Will Lead Them Up And Down)
  • 8 Sonnet For Sister Kate
  • 9 The Star-Crossed Lovers
  • 10 Madness In Great Ones
  • 11 Half The Fun
  • 12 Circle of Fourths