Home    Succession

Kyoto Jazz Sextet feat. Takeo Moriyama


Lawson Entertainment


2LP Black $48

SHIPS BY 2024-06-14

  • Originally released in 2022
  • Pressed on black double vinyl
  • Featuring acclaimed jazz drummer Takeo Moriyama


Elite group led by Shuya Okino encounters legendary drummer, bridging past and present of Japanese jazz, paving the way for its future.

- KYOTO JAZZ SEXTET, an acoustic jazz unit initiated by Shuya Okino of Kyoto Jazz Massive in 2015, focuses on expressing the contemporary essence of jazz. Their albums "MISSION" (2015) and "UNITY" (2017) reflect this approach.

- Featuring Takeo Moriyama, a stalwart of Japanese jazz drumming, the collaboration debuted at Tokyo Crossover/Jazz Festival 2021, captivating audiences with its cross-generational energy.

- The album showcases Moriyama's iconic club jazz pieces alongside Shuya Okino's new composition "Father Forest," recorded and cut from analog tape for a rich, dynamic sound.

Shinpei Ruike (trumpet)
Ken Kurihara (tenor saxophone)
Yusuke Hirado (piano)
Yoshihito "P" Koizumi (bass)
Shuya Okino (vision, sound effect on Watarase)
featuring Takeo Moriyama (drums)

Produced by Shuya Okino (Kyoto Jazz Massive)
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Akihito Yoshikawa (STUDIO Dedé)

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Forest・Mode
  • 2 Miagetegoran Yoruno Hoshio
  • 3 Father・ Forest
  • 4 Kaze
  • 5 Sunrise
  • 6 No・More・Apple
  • 7 Watarase