Home    Studio Recordings Intro to the Matrix

Bob Marley & The Wailers

Studio Recordings Intro to the Matrix



2LP Black $20 $57
  • Comes with Japanese obi-strip
  • Double LP pressed on black vinyl
  • First ever vinyl reissue!


Recordings from a studio jam session before Bob Marley & The Wailers’ legendary performance at San Francisco’s The Matrix reissued on vinyl for the first time ever!

After the release of their world debut Catch A Fire, Bob Marley & The Wailers would embark on a U.S. tour supporting the legendary Sly And The Family Stone. Yet after five dates, they were fired from the tour, supposedly for upstaging the main acts! Left with no money and nowhere to go, they performed one legendary show at San Francisco’s The Matrix.

These recordings, taken from a studio session before their legendary performance, find Bob Marley and The Wailers at their best. Featuring the classic lineup of Bob Marley (vo/gt.), Peter Tosh (vo/gt), Joe Higgs (per.), Earl Lindo (pf.), Family Man Barrett (b.), and Carlton Barrett (ds.), the Wailers are imbued with the kind of Rock and Roll energy that could only come from outshining Sly Stone. Even sweet rocksteady ballads such as “Stir It Up” take on the form of a rock and roll anthem in this session! Despite internal tensions that would result in Tosh leaving the band the following year, The Wailers are tight as they ever were, with their iconic vocal harmonies and rhythmic prowess on full display.

Discovered and released on CD by P-VINE in 2005, these mythical studio recordings are finally getting a long deserved analog release! The double LP on black vinyl comes complete with an obi-strip! Put this on your player and let Kingston come to you!

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 01 You Can't Blame The Youth
  • 2 Slave Driver
  • 3 Burnin' and Lootin'
  • 4 Rasta Man Chant
  • 5 Duppy Conquer
  • 6 Midnight Raver
  • 7 Put It Up (Lord I Thank You)
  • 8 Stop That Train
  • 9 Kinky Reggae
  • 10 Stir It Up
  • 11 No More Trouble
  • 12 Get Up Stand Up