Home    Sounds of Lecak Vol. 1

Kribo Records

Sounds of Lecak Vol. 1

Guruguru Brain


2LP Black $35
  • Groovy tunes
  • Singapore independent label
  • Retro funk and soul
  • Collection of singles
  • Nusantara archipelago music scene


Sitting atop a bean curd shop on grungy Geylang Road in Singapore, a room filled with vintage gear serves as the home and studio of Kribo Records, the home-grown independent label founded by the enigmatic musician and producer known simply as Maggot. This is where his madcap studio wizardry conjures up the muggy, sweaty, funky and groovy tunes that soundtrack his world within the melting pot culture of his homeland.

This is the Sound of Lecak, a regional stamp on the global retro funk and soul movement, inspired by the indigenous word that can mean moist, wet, muddy or even naughty. Filtered through his love of global soul and rhythms of the ‘60s and ‘70s, Maggot and his collaborators offer up a vibe that’s equal parts Thai Luk Thung / Molam, African Afrobeat, 70’s U.S. funk, disco, psych, soul, and U.K. pop. This collection of Kribo Records singles provides a peek into Maggot’s singular musical attitude, and provides a window into the unique cultural landscape of the Nusantara archipelago.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Sitar Funk Group - Prem Durga
  • 2 The Kribo Brothers - Yokoso
  • 3 Rebana Funk Brothers - Zapin Lucah
  • 4 Golden Mile Band - Thai Whiskey
  • 5 Wah Wah Thai - Maak
  • 6 Hail Atan, Rebana Funk Brothers - Inang Bo Tinang
  • 7 Anak Anak Abu - Korkap Mestap
  • 8 Golden Mile Band - Ogy Mat Daud
  • 9 Geylang Electric Phin Band - Hek Sib Gau
  • 10 Hong Chungao Street Band - Luna
  • 11 The Ugly Voices - Parkiu
  • 12 Budak Bawah Blok - Teksi Dreba
  • 13 The Ugly Voices - Mak Janda
  • 14 The Ugly Voices - Senandung Dua Alam
  • 15 Eri - Oh Rumah
  • 16 Golden Mile Band - Morning Sex
  • 17 Budak Bawah Blok - Pusing Pusing Balek Balek Sama
  • 18 Golden Mile Band - Dingdong
  • 19 Maggot - The Great Wall of Aria
  • 20 Aaliya - Penghujung Dunia"