Home    Sea Horse

Akira Miyazawa Quartet

Sea Horse

Pony Canyon


2LP Black $70
  • Featuring music by legendary jazz tenor saxophone and flute player Akira Miyazawa (1927-2000)
  • Live performance recorded in 1989
  • Originally released in 2002 on CD


The sound of this live-recording is clearly focusing on the band. You may think that this is a studio recording first because you barely hear the audience. Masahiko Ozu plays drums, who also worked with Ornette Coleman, Sarah Vaughan and many others. Harumi Takeuchi plays piano and Shunsuke Takeuchi plays bass. You can enjoy outstanding Miyazawa’s tenor sax sound texture on all tracks including “GREEN DOLPHIN STREET” starting with his solo improvisation, one of the most popular Ellington’s composition “IN A SENTIMENTAL MOOD”, “BABY SEA HORSE” written by Miyazawa and “IF EVER I WOULD LEAVE YOU” from the musical "Camelot".

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Green Dolphin Street
  • 2 In a Sentimental Mood
  • 3 Poor Butterfly
  • 4 Baby Sea Horse
  • 5 Stardust
  • 6 Billie’s Bounce
  • 7 I Can’t Get Started
  • 8 Take the a Train
  • 9 If Ever I Would Leave You