Home    Scacco alla Regina OST

Piero Piccioni

Scacco alla Regina OST
LP Blue Marble $30
  • Pressed on Sky Blue & White Marbled Vinyl
  • Remastered by Claudio Fuiano
  • New artwork


“Scacco alla Regina” (“Check to the Queen”, also known as “The Slave”) is a 1969 film directed by Pasquale Festa Campanile, a visually excellent work that mixes dramatic, sentimental and erotic ingredients for a successful portrait of the late 60s rich Italian bourgeoisie.

The soundtrack, composed and conducted by Piero Piccioni, is arguably one of the best he’s ever made. Beat, jazz, lounge, psychedelia, classical music: this score offers a considerable stylistic variety, and makes often use of the precious and unmistakable voice of Edda Dell’Orso and Alessandro Alessandroni’s Cantori Moderni.

The absolute excellence of this soundtrack is confirmed by the fact that it works perfectly even as a stand-alone record, detached from the movie scenes; quite surprisingly, it has never received all the attention it undoubtedly deserved.

Sky blue/white marbled vinyl edition with gatefold cover, a new artwork and audio remastered by Claudio Fuiano.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Capriccio
  • 2 Aspetto ancora un giorno
  • 3 The redcoat
  • 4 Sognando la tua voce
  • 5 Con o senza sole
  • 6 Da soli in vacanza
  • 7 È vero, ogni mondo è felice
  • 8 Scacco alla regina
  • 9 ...al re
  • 10 L'alfiere
  • 11 La torre
  • 12 Nero più bianco
  • 13 Poche mosse alla fine
  • 14 I cavalli