Home    Report from Sarajevo (XIV Winter Olympic Games 1984)

Kornelije Kovac

Report from Sarajevo (XIV Winter Olympic Games 1984)

Fox & His Friends Records


12" Black $18

SHIPS BY 2024-08-23

  • Mastered from original analog tapes
  • Unreleased first sessions for Sarajevo Olympic Games 1984 used in promotional film "Report from Sarajevo"
  • Kornelije Kovac worked with Hans Zimmer and many other famous musicians
  • Full color 12'' cover with special insert, liner notes and photos from personal archives
  • Limited Edition EP soundtrack pressed in Record Industry Netherlands


Unreleased themes from Kornelije Kovac for commissioned documentary short 'Raport iz Sarajeva', directed by Miodrag Zdravkovic in 1982. This music themes precede the official songs, idents and audio logos for the XIV Winter Olympic Games Sarajevo 1984 opening ceremony made by Kornelije Kovac in his Belgrade based studio from 1982 to 1984. Sourced from the original master tapes with full color artwork by Eric Adrian Lee. Includes insert with photographs from Kornelije Kovac private collection and liner notes by Zeljko Luketic.

XIV Winter Olympic Games in Sarajevo 1984 had immeasurable status in the history of Yugoslavia and is widely recognized by organizing committee to be the best in recent history of the Games. However, they were also the pop-culture melting pot of the times, with posters by Andy Warhol and famed local designers and the music by Kornelije Kovac, leading the selected best-of-the-best composers of the times.

The recordings on this release share the same musical approach to melody and structure Kornelije Kovac (1942 - 2022) was using at the beginning and the mid of 1980s: while exploring the possibilities of synthesizer, fresh from his collaborations in London with famed composer Hans Zimmer, and almost a decade since he shared Eurovision Song Contest stage with ABBA in Brighton with his Korni Grupa. He also collaborated with Bernie Marsden (Whitesnake), Paul Jones (Manfred Mann) and Andy Pask (Landscape) among others. Kornelije Kovac always insisted on the freshness of the harmony layers combined with DJ friendly rhythm backing track.

With the warm analogue feel that resonates in today's digital world this was chosen for a purpose to be an old-school 12'' maxi-single, as it was intended to be, cut loudly for the sakes of all lost and existing discotheques in Sarajevo and all over the world.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Report from Sarajevo
  • 2 Anticipation of Olympics
  • 3 500 Days
  • 4 Report from Sarajevo (Extended Version)