Home    Release The Sunshine


Release The Sunshine

Lion Productions

LIONLP-104 / PACE047

LP Black $28
  • Glorious new remaster sourced directly from the master tapes
  • Dreamy sunshine-infused-yet-with-clouds-passing-by pop psychedelia with a folk bent and a futuristic sound
  • Pressed on black vinyl


Free Design fans – take notice!!

The Folklords were a Toronto, Ontario band who released the rare folk psych LP “Release the Sunshine” on Allied Records No. 11 in 1968. The band members were Tom Martin on bass and vocals; Paul Seip on guitar and vocals; Martha Johnson on autoharp and vocals; and Craig Boswell on drums. The album was produced by Jack Boswell and Bill Bessey. Two Brothers Music. Photography was by Jack Umpleby. The Folklords album is one of the most sought after albums of this genre and currently commands a $400 price tag for a NM copy.

A new edition of this Canadian folk/psych classic — perfect dreamy, sunshine-infused-yet-with-clouds-passing-by pop psychedelia with a folk bent, originally released by independent Canadian label Allied Records in 1968. When we first issued this terrific album many many years ago, our booklet featured the few scraps of information on the band we could find. We challenged “anyone out there” to find some information on this elusive and intriguing band. Well, we’re pleased that someone took us up on that offer, and that the specific someone was band leader Tom Waschkowski (credited on the album as Tom Martin). He graciously offered us a band history, lyrics, and some terrific photos. This allows us to offer up as perfect a reissue of this album as humanly possible.

The Folklords “Release the Sunshine” is a captivating album, a notion shared by the many collectors world-wide who fight for original copies, which are few and far between. Strange thing is, if someone were to say to us that the Folklords album was released by Creation Records in 1987, it would be difficult to argue. You may well ask, why? Our answer: the chiming guitars, the rattle of tambourine, the dreaminess, the sometimes dark lyrics, and the harmony vocals of Martha Johnson place the Folklords closer to Biff Bang Pow, the Jesus and Mary Chain, the Revolving Paint Dream, or even My Bloody Valentine’s debut, “Ecstasy and Wine” (granted, at a much slower speed, and without the rampant fuzz guitar) than it does to sunny 1960’s poppiness. Glorious newly remastered sound — sourced directly from the master tapes.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Jennifer Lee
  • 2 Don't Hide Your Love From Me
  • 3 Child
  • 4 Unspoken Love
  • 5 Windows
  • 6 Forty Second River
  • 7 Pardon Me Judas
  • 8 Thank You For Your Kindness
  • 9 We'll Love Like Before
  • 10 Suzanne Marie
  • 11 Don't Look Back
  • 12 The Slave
  • 13 Forty Second River
  • 14 Unspoken Love