Home    Plays The Blues For You

Melvin Taylor

Plays The Blues For You

Pure Pleasure


LP Black $39
  • 180 gram LP x 1 standard sleeve
  • Recorded at Studio Davout, Paris on March 21st 1984


Guitarist Melvin Taylor’s fluid, smartly constructed solos and understated yet winning vocals are surprises on this 1984 nine-track set recorded for Isabel. Taylor is not a fancy or arresting singer but succeeds through his simple, effective delivery of lyrics, slight inflections, and vocal nuances. His guitar work is impressive, with skittering riffs, shifting runs, and dashing solos. Organist/pianist Lucky Peterson is an excellent second soloist, adding cute background phrases at times, then stepping forward and challenging or buttressing Taylor’s playing with his own dazzling lines. Ron Wynn/AMG

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Talking To Anna-Mae, (Part 1)
  • 2 T.V. Mama
  • 3 I'll Play The Blues For You
  • 4 Born To Lose
  • 5 Tribute To Wes
  • 6 Cadillac Assembly Line
  • 7 Voodoo Daddy
  • 8 Taking To Anna-Mae, (Part 2)
  • 9 Groovin' In Paris