Home    Palace Of Sin

The Trees

Palace Of Sin
LP Red $27
  • Numbered translucent red vinyl LP edition of 750x copies, which come with download code
  • First release in more than thirty years by Dallas band the Trees.


GrooveNet/Treblephone Records is proud to announce the release of Palace of Sin, the first release in more than thirty years by Dallas band The Trees. Songwriter/vocalist Patrick McKanna and guitarist Matt Swaney have created a landmark LP which encapsulates rock, country and power-pop influences, combined with solid, insightful lyrics.

Patrick McKanna has followed his own muse throughout his entire music career and has steadfastly refused to bow to current styles and influences. His work relies on classic songwriting skills. Matt Swaney’s hookful, melodic guitar ensures that the songs stick in your memory after the album is over. Palace of Sin delivers on the promise of 1986’s Locomotion Vs. Hittin’ The Brake, a seminal record in the development of the Dallas, Texas 1980’s Deep Ellum music scene. The band also appeared on the Island Records 1987 release The Sound of Deep Ellum, a musical snapshot of the fertile mix of styles and influences existing on the Dallas music scene. [Their musical pedigree goes back to the dawn of punk/new wave — Patrick appeared on a local 45 rarity by the U.S. Mods, and Matt was a member of Dallas punk band The Assassins.

Proving that stellar songwriting and classic production values never go out of style, Palace of Sin will be an album that is destined to remain on ‘repeat’ on your playlist” Released August 2018, but being made available for distribution for the first time.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Scherazade
  • 2 Girl Most Likely
  • 3 Baby Plays Games
  • 4 Grow Your Own
  • 5 Hope To Hang On To
  • 6 Backslider
  • 7 Up All Night
  • 8 Pretty In Pink
  • 9 Ca$h Is King
  • 10 Palace Of Sin