Home    Pacific

Haruomi Hosono, Shigeru Suzuki, Tatsuro Yamashita

LP Blue $42
  • Long awaited official reissue of this much sought-after Japanese gem
  • Clear Blue Vinyl
  • Cutting by Bernie Grundman
  • Limited supply
  • Comes with obi and 594 mm × 841 mm poster


The theme of this exceptional album is the beautiful South Pacific sea, with music written by Haruomi Hosono, Shigeru Suzuki and Tatsuro Yamashita. At this time Haruomi Hosono was just in the middle of preparing for YMO, and the three songs he was in charge of were produced by Ryuichi Sakamoto, Yukihiro Takahashi and a few others. It’s a wonderful combination of early electronic instruments and exotic sounds. “Cosmic Surfing”, which was later included in YMO’s debut album Yellow Magic Orchestra, appears for the first time on this album.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 The Last Paradise - Haruomi Hosono
  • 2 Coral Reef - Shigeru Suzuki
  • 3 Nostalgia of Island - Tatsuro Yamashita
  • 4 Slack Key Rumba - Haruomi Hosono
  • 5 Passion Flower - Shigeru Suzuki
  • 6 Noa Noa - Shigeru Suzuki
  • 7 Kiska - Tatsuro Yamashita
  • 8 Cosmic Surfing - Haruomi Hosono