Home    Monsters In Town

Minako Yoshida

Monsters In Town
LP Black $42

SHIPS BY 2024-08-24

  • 1st time analogue re-issue since original release
  • Remastered by original sound engineer Tamotsu Yoshida from original master
  • Cutting Engineer by Bernie Grundman
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressing (US)
  • Limited Pressing


“Monsters In Town” was Minako Yoshida’s self-produced 8th album released in 1981.

She shifted her sound from introspective singer song writer to heavy funk in turn leading to her next albums “Light’n Up” and “In Motion”. During this time she became known as the “Queen of Funk”.

“Monsters In Town” established her producer career that was sonically defined by a tight groove of multi-layered backup tracks, with a focus on chorus arrangements.

The album features the same musicians as her album “Monochrome” such as Tsunehide Matsuki, Yasuaki Shimizu, also featuring Akira Sakata on saxophone. Strings and Horns are arranged by Tatsuro Yamashita and Yasuaki Shimizu (Kakashi).

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Town
  • 2 Lovin' You
  • 3 Nights In Her Eyes
  • 4 Black Eye Lady
  • 5 Monster Stomp
  • 6 Knock, Knock
  • 7 Moment Of Twilight
  • 8 Back In Town