Home    Mixed Bag’s First Album (LITA EXCLUSIVE)

Mixed Bag

Mixed Bag’s First Album (LITA EXCLUSIVE)
LP Black $15 $22
LP Clear $15 $25
  • Rare Soul-Jazz-Fusion from Ann Arbor
  • Originally released on Tribe Records in 1976
  • Featuring an all-star line-up
  • 180g CLEAR vinyl limited to 100 copies (LITA Exclusive)
  • 180g BLACK vinyl limited to 500 copies (w/obi strip)
  • NOTE: No Sales to Japan


Mixed bag (aka The Mixed Bag) was an all-star project from Detroit/Ann Harbor area who released one of the most obscure albums on the Tribe Records label in the 70s (and one of the greatest too). The line-up is impressing to say the least:

On bass we have RON BROOKS (who also produced the album). Brooks has been a major player in, and influence on, the Detroit jazz community for several decades. Ron emerged on the scene in the 1960s, performing on bass with piano greats-to-be Bob James and Stanley Cowell. He was a member of the Contemporary Jazz Quintet, led by the late, great Detroit pianist Kenny Cox.

On the drums we have DANNY SPENCER who has a unique style that exemplifies the best of the Detroit tradition of aggressive and explorative drummers which gave the jazz world Elvin Jones, Freddie Waites, and Louis Hayes among others. His intense propulsive energy combined with his ability for subtle colorations made him Joe Henderson’s choice for touring in the seventies and many concerts ever since. Spencer was also part of the legendary Contemporary Jazz Quintet which recorded for Blue Note and Strata Records.

On Keyboards we have EDDIE RUSS who was an impressive jazz keyboardist-composer-arranger who worked with numerous legends through several decades, including Sonny Stitt, Sarah Vaughn, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Dizzy Gillespie, Stan Getz, Roland Kirk, Marcus Belgrave, among many others. Russ came into his own in the 1970s with trend-setting excursions into jazz-funk that mirrored James Brown’s forays into hip-hop and dance.

On the flute we have LARRY NOZERO who is a first call alto player and doubles on soprano sax and flute. No stranger to success, Nozero’s previous credits and collaborators include Henry Mancini, Sergio Mendes, and playing Soprano sax on Marvin Gaye’s iconic 1971 album, What’s Going On. Larry Nozero was at the forefront of many prominent musical projects in the Detroit area.

Recorded at the Holland-Dozier-Holland Sound Studios where Tribe classics such as Wendell Harrison’s ‘Farewell To Welfare’ saw the light (but also home to P-Funk stars Parliament) the listener is treated to six sublime tracks built around skipping rhythms on drum and bass, filled in by angular reed passages and topped off with some really sweet keyboards. Expect nothing less than THE perfect blend of funky fusion and righteous soul jazz combined with gorgeous post-bop ballads and upbeat Latin flavored contemporary jazz.

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents a much-needed reissue of this spiritual Soul Jazz classic that was originally released on Tribe Records in 1976. This rare record (original copies tend to go for LARGE amounts on the secondary market) now comes as a deluxe 180g vinyl edition, strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide with obi strip and features the original sleeve notes by Bob James (known for his work with Chet Baker, Quincy Jones and Idris Muhammad).

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 La Margarita
  • 2 I Wish
  • 3 Maxine
  • 4 Ziaus
  • 5 New Moon
  • 6 Shark