Home    Live In Lotusland

The Nimbus Collective

Live In Lotusland

Nimbus West


3LP Black $89
  • Re-mastering by: Cicely Baston at Alchemy/Air Mastering
  • Produced by Tom Albach
  • Recorded July 1987 Santa Barbara, California
  • Pressed on Black Triple Vinyl


Featuring Nate Morgan on piano, Jesse Sharps on reeds, Danny Cortez on trumpet, Rickey Kelly on vibes, Joel Ector on bass and Derek Roberts on drums. This music was recorded in Santa Barbara in July of 1987. Since the passing of the great pianist/composer/bandleader Horace Tapscott, the Nimbus West label has continued to document the underground L.A. jazz scene that Mr. Tapscott was once at the center of. A number of great musicians who once collaborated with Tapscott, like Jesse Sharps & Nate Morgan, have recorded albums as leaders on Nimbus West. The short liner notes state that “trying to play serious music in an area as shallow & fad-driven as Los Angeles, were too much for this band to deal with…” so they didn’t last too long. No doubt. This LP is proof that this collective’s music was strong, spirited, original and had a great deal to offer. I can’t say that I’ve heard of any of the rhythm section players but all six members of the collective are excellent musicians nonetheless. Nate Morgan’s “Retribution, Reparation” is first and it has one of those McCoy Tyner-like 70’s ensemble vibes with spirited piano and Trane-ish tenor sax sailing on top. The entire sextet is in great form with impressive solos from trumpeter Danny Cortez, vibist Rickey Kelly and pianist Nate Morgan. How musicians as incredible as this escaped notice, I will never understand. The sextet is ultra-tight and swings furiously throughout. Bassist John Ector’s “Big Spliff” has a most memorable theme that had me smiling all the way through. The long & inspired soprano solo by Jesse Sharps and that great piano interplay & solo makes this piece even more special. The only cover on this LP is Monk’s “Well You Needn’t” and it too is done exuberantly. There are over 100 minutes of outstanding music on this wonderful release. Another buried treasure to add to your collection of great gifts from the gods.

- Bruce Lee Gallanter/Downtown Music Gallery

Personnel: Nate Morgan – piano
Danny Cortez – trumpet
Jesse Sharps – reeds
Joel Ector – bass
Derek Roberts – drums

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Retribution, Reparation
  • 2 Personnel
  • 3 Big Spliff
  • 4 Well You Needn't
  • 5 A Bientot
  • 6 The Goat And The Ram Jam
  • 7 Distant Vibes
  • 8 Mrafu
  • 9 Mfaconi
  • 10 Journey Into Nigritia