Home    Liberated Brother

Weldon Irvine

Liberated Brother

Pure Pleasure


LP Black $39

SHIPS BY 2024-08-16

  • Re-mastering by: Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London


Weldon Irvine’s debut as a leader remains one of the most fiercely idiosyncratic electric jazz outings of the early ‘70s. Innovative not only for its moody, nuanced jazz-funk sensibility, Liberated Brother also translates the uncommonly strong passion of Irvine’s political and philosophical views into its grooves, creating music of rare sincerity and ambition. While the record’s first-half features longer, more meditative songs, like the Latin-inspired title tune and “Blues Wel-Don,” the second side of Liberated Brother commands the most attention. With sterling contributions from guitarist Tommy Smith, bassist Roland Wilson, and drummer Napoleon Revels-Bey, cuts like “Mr. Clean” and “Sister Sanctified” (later sampled by Boogie Down Productions for the rap classic “My Philosophy”) achieve a deeply funky consciousness forged from elements of jazz, soul, and psychedelia; “Juggah Buggah” even features Irvine on Moog synthesizer, further expanding the LP’s cosmic reach.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Liberated Brother
  • 2 Here’s Where I Came In
  • 3 Blues Wel-Don
  • 4 Mr.Clean
  • 5 Gloria
  • 6 Homey
  • 7 Juggah Buggah
  • 8 Sister Sanctified