Home    Le montagne della luce

Romolo Grano & Gianni Oddi

Le montagne della luce

Four Flies Records


12” Black $25
  • 3 tracks previously unreleased
  • First time on 12” vinyl


Romolo Grano (composer) and Gianni Oddi (arranger and conductor) join forces for a trippy and funky journey exploring both the heart of Africa, and its deepest mysteries.

Originally composed for an Italian TV Documentary in 1975 and released on a very rare and sought after 7-inch on the Ricordi Label (SRL 10781), this score finally shines again in a new guise thanks to a collaboration between Four Flies Records and the renowned music publisher Flipper Music.
Besides the two tracks pressed on the original 45, we present here for the first time three new cuts that were recently discovered in the archives. Edda Dell’Orso lends her voice on the leading track “Kukumbe” with her unique scat style, but also sings on “Kilimangiaro” – a dreamy cinematic number spiced with cosmic electronics, and presented here as a double version; the newest powered by the spoken words of an unidentified Italian actress. The biggest surprise is “Nairobi”, a wonderful mid-tempo track with a groovy bassline similar to “Kukumbe” – a gem we’ve missed for way too long. And what about “Wayombe”? A lovely afro-funk downtempo cut driven by the great Oscar Valdambrini’s trumpet, in the style of Gianni Oddi’s most wanted, like “Ho incontrato un’ombra” and “Dreamin’”. An unmissable beauty for any serious DJ/collector.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Kilimangiario
  • 2 Kukumbe
  • 3 Wayombe
  • 4 Kilimangiaro (Spoken Alt. Take)
  • 5 Nairobi