Home    Kumachan Seal

Kumachan Seal

Kumachan Seal

Em Records


LP Black $29
  • Pressed on Black Vinyl
  • Includes English lyric sheet
  • Solo project of Sairi Ojima from Neco Nemuru


Kumachan Seal: solo project of Japanese vocalist / songwriter / producer Sairi Ojima, who has been playing in numerous indie bands, including Neco Nemuru, since her teens. She began her solo career in 2013, and released her first cassette in 2017. This EM Records release is her first LP album, with all compositions by Ojima, who co-produced the album. Each of the eleven songs reveals beguiling layers of detailed and surprising sounds, with Ojima’s DIY sonic core embroidered by vibrant and colorful beats and guitar from EM artist Le Makeup and the quintessential ambient-pop synths and keyboards of fellow EM-er Takao. Le Makeup mixed ten of the eleven songs, with Takao mixing “China Sandwich”. The heart of Ojima’s musical identity is her clear, aqueous voice; apart from one instrumental, all the tracks here feature that mellifluous voice, but in an interesting twist, only half the songs have lyrics, with the remainder employing her wordless voice as melodic and textural elements. Although Kumachan Seal can be heard as a sort of bedroom pop filtered through ambient music and the new-age revival, listeners will note that the final two songs, “Atsumono” and “Tiny Cell”, are respectively a slightly skewed four-on-the-floor track and a lightly skanking Doo-wop-flavored confection, slightly reminiscent of the UK’s Brenda Ray. This album, full of Ojima’s calm and cool observation of the world, is available on LP, and includes an English lyric sheet.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Graze
  • 2 Trap for Catching Wolf
  • 3 Radonamin
  • 4 Pedicure
  • 5 China Sandwich (overdubs & mix by Takao)
  • 6 Late Summer
  • 7 Dapple Gray Horse
  • 8 Raw Oyster
  • 9 Build a Fire in a Canoe
  • 10 Soup
  • 11 Tinycell