Home    In My Own Time

Karen Dalton

In My Own Time
Cassette Tape $12
CD $12
LP Black $19
Digital Download $10.99


Recorded over a six-month period in 1970/71 at Bearsville, In My Own Time was Dalton's only fully planned and realized studio album. The material was carefully selected and crafted for her by producer/musician Harvey Brooks, the Renaissance man of rock-jazz who played bass on Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited and Miles’ Bitches Brew. It features ten songs that reflect Dalton's incredible ability to break just about anybody's heart – from her spectral evocation of Joe Tate's “One Night of Love” to the dark tragedy of the traditional “Katie Cruel.” Known as a great interpreter of choice material, Dalton could master both country and soul genres with hauntingly pining covers of George Jones' “Take Me” and Holland-Dozier-Holland's “How Sweet It Is.”

Artist Bio


Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Something On Your Mind
  • 2 When a Man Loves a Woman
  • 3 In My Own Dream
  • 4 Katie Cruel
  • 5 How Sweet It Is
  • 6 In a Station
  • 7 Take Me
  • 8 Same Old Man
  • 9 One Night of Love
  • 10 Are You Leaving for the Country
  • 11 Something On Your Mind (Alternate Mix) [Digital Only Bonus Track]
  • 12 In My Own Dream (Alternate Mix) [Digital Only Bonus Track]
  • 13 Katie Cruel (Alternate Mix) [Digital Only Bonus Track]
  • 14 Are You Leaving For The Country (Backwards) [Digital Only Bonus Track]