Home    Home

Nick Kurosawa


Aloha Got Soul


LP Black $23
CD $14
LP Clear $15 $24
  • 2021 repress, cut at 45 RPM
  • New clear repress


Introducing Home, the six-song debut EP from O‘ahu-born soul singer and guitarist Nick Kurosawa.

Recorded in Honolulu in February 2018, Home features Kurosawa’s timeless original songs alongside influential classics by Bobby Caldwell, Sam Cooke, and Kalapana.

Home stands as an inspired stepping stone for a young, bright artist like Kurosawa, who roots himself in tradition as he explores his own sound, searching for where his voice and spirit feel most at home.
For Aloha Got Soul, this debut represents another step forward in the label’s continuing effort to represent relatively unknown music of Hawai‘i — regardless of generation or genre.

To bring the release full circle, AGS tapped engineer and musician Kit Ebersbach of Pacific Music Productions. Ebersbach’s first sessions were on the Lemuria and Babadu LPs. His first engineering project was for the ultra-rare Tender Leaf LP in the early 1980s.

Two takes of each song were recorded during the session, with vocals and acoustic guitar or hollow body electric guitar, live in the room.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 I'll Come Running Back To You
  • 2 Possible
  • 3 The River
  • 4 What You Won't Do For Love
  • 5 What Do I Do
  • 6 Victim