Home    Handscapes

The Piano Choir


Pure Pleasure


2LP Black $50
  • Re-mastering by: Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London
  • Double live album
  • 180 gram LP x 2 in gatefold sleeve


Handscapes is a double live album by The Piano Choir featuring Stanley Cowell, Nat Jones, Hugh Lawson, Webster Lewis, Harold Mabern, Danny Mixon, and Sonelius Smith recorded in 1972.

At the time of release Ebony reviewer Phyl Garland said "One needn’t be a “piano freak” to appreciate a truly new recording. First of all imagine seven gifted and talented pianists sitting down to seven grand pianos (with electric piano, organ, harpsichord, a few tambourines for spice) and proceeding to tear up these instruments – musically, that is. …the torrrent of sound springing from their 70 fingers is so powerful and majestic as to be unlike anything one has ever heard."

In his review for AllMusic, Michael G. Nastos simply states “Brilliant”

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Jaboobie’s March
  • 2 Straight No Chaser
  • 3 Precious Lord
  • 4 Sanctum Saintorium
  • 5 Nation Time
  • 6 Effi
  • 7 Man Extensions
  • 8 The Almoravids
  • 9 Killers