Home    El Pulso de la Madera

Finis Africae

El Pulso de la Madera

Glossy Mistakes


2LP Black $25 $40
  • Pressed on Black Vinyl
  • Remastered from Master Tapes
  • Previously unreleased work from the Spanish Ambient Seminal Band
  • Extensive liner notes with previously unseen pictures of the band"


A deep trip of the roots of organic ambient with the seminal Spanish band.

“Pulso de la Madera” comes as the definitive official reissue of the first album by the legendary band, along with previously unreleased remastered material, on a double LP with extensive liner notes and previously unseen pictures of the band. Essential to revisit the work of a band that inspired fourth world and organic ambient as we know it today; these tunes sound immersive and still contemporary.

On their short but influential career, Finis Africae proposed an informal and decentralized model of creativity that was decades ahead of current practices linked to technological advances; they explored unknown worlds and imagined landscapes of the “fourth world” apart from their present; they neither affirmed nor denied any of the labels they were to assign to them (“New Age”, “ethnic music”, “world music”, etc.); they recreated, used, and nourished foreign cultures without fear.

And most importantly – they shaped a sound “finis”. Your own space. Where there were no rules. A dimension in which the collective was submerged in long sessions of improvisation; where they could be goblins and magical entities; a place where they could imagine scales and structures unreal; where they could play any instrument in the known world; where they could tour the Mediterranean, Africa, and the Middle East in a blink of an eye; where they could be themselves without caring about anything that happened outside.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Radio Tarifa
  • 2 El Secreto De Las 12
  • 3 Luna
  • 4 Zoo Zulu
  • 5 Juana Y Rosalia
  • 6 Hybla
  • 7 Managua
  • 8 Bahia De Los Genoveses
  • 9 El viento mece los juncos
  • 10 La Costa de la Muerte
  • 11 Petróleo, petróleo
  • 12 Las Reglas de la Regata
  • 13 El viaje de Iradier
  • 14 Alma Ata
  • 15 Los Restos del Naufragio
  • 16 Pulso de la madera
  • 17 Geosindical