Home    Do You Still Feel The Same Way

Tommie Young

Do You Still Feel The Same Way



LP Black $18 $46
  • Limited edition vinyl
  • Comes with an iconic Japanese obi-strip
  • Features legendary tracks such as “Hit and Run Lover” and the record’s title track “Do You Still Feel The Same Way”


Born in Dallas, Texas, Tommie Young started her musical journey in a church choir, singing her faith every sunday. It wasn’t until she began singing in night clubs that she caught the eye of Bobby Patterson, a record producer for Soul Power, a division of the fabled Jewel Records, through which she released ‘Do You Still Feel The Same Way’. Legend has it that she entered the studio and recorded every song in a single take; unleashing one powerful vocal performance after another, until the 11-track record was completed.

While tracks such as “Hit and Run Lover” saw some popularity in the 90’s soul scene, Young truly shines when she shows her gospel roots. Title track and album opener “Do You Still Feel The Same Way”, sees Young let loose, and her Aretha Franklin-esque gospel vocals soar to previously unknown heights. The O.V. Wright-penned “That’s How Strong My Love Is”, is a beautiful soul ballad, showing both the power and tenderness of Young’s voice; a full showcasing of her incredible talent.

Almost half a century after its initial release, the Southern Soul of Tommy Young still stands the test of time. Perhaps it’s the freshness that’s provided by single take recordings, or the genius of Patterson, but the album’s combination of gospel, funk, and soul remains a perfect encapsulation of 70s soul. Don’t miss this amazing reissue, available with an obi-strip on limited edition vinyl, only from P-VINE Records!

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Do You Still Feel The Same Way
  • 2 Do We Have A Future
  • 3 You Came Just In Time
  • 4 She Don't Have To See You (To See Through You)
  • 5 You Can Only Do Wrong So Long
  • 6 You Can't Have Your Cake (And Eat It Too)
  • 7 You Brought It All On Yourself
  • 8 That's All A Part Of Loving Him
  • 9 That's How Strong My Love Is
  • 10 Hit And Run Lover
  • 11 Everybody's Got A Little Devil In Their Soul