Home    Consummation

Thad Jones/Mel Lewis


Pure Pleasure


LP Black $39
  • 180 gram LP x 1 gatefoldd sleeve
  • Recorded January 20, 21, 28 & May 25, 1970 at A&R Studios


Of the many albums recorded by the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra, this was the greatest. This set introduced Jones’ best-known composition, “A Child Is Born,” and also has a colourful rendition of his sly “Tiptoe,” and finds the big band ripping the roof off during the lengthy and very exciting “Fingers.”

The all-star cast (which includes flugelhornist Jones, drummer Lewis, trumpeter Marvin Stamm, trombonist Jimmy Knepper, tenor great Billy Harper, the reeds of Jerome Richardson, Jerry Dodgion and Eddie Daniels, keyboardist Roland Hanna, and bassist Richard Davis, among others) is well served by Thad Jones’ inventive and swinging arrangements. A classic.

Scott Yanow/AMG

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Dedication It Only Happens Every Time
  • 2 It Only Happens Every Time
  • 3 Tiptoe
  • 4 A Child Is Born
  • 5 Us
  • 6 Ahunk Ahunk
  • 7 Fingers
  • 8 Consummation