Home    Cold Water

Kyouko Furuya

Cold Water

Nippon Columbia


LP Black $53
  • Originally released in 1982
  • Pressed on black vinyl
  • Japanese pop meets reggae, funk, R&B, and disco


Kyouko Furuya began her career as a piano student in Tokyo’s Kunitachi College of Music. Debuting in a duo dubbed Virgo with future actress Yumi Mizusawa, they quietly became a popular thing in the acoustic Tokyo folk scene. With time, though, Kyouko Furuya pursued other opportunities.

First released off of the Japanese label, Better Days, in 1982, “Cold Water” features a kaleidoscopic vision of what Japanese Pop can be when it ties its influence to something like reggae, funk, R&B, and disco.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Harumi Wharf
  • 2 Where
  • 3 Shura Bura
  • 4 Love Only for One Season
  • 5 Memory
  • 6 Tokyo
  • 7 Kesarang Pasarang
  • 8 Main Street at Midnight
  • 9 Déjà Vu
  • 10 Surely So