Home    Cocaine Bear

Mark Mothersbaugh

Cocaine Bear



LP Clear Splatter $31
  • The Complete Score by Composer Mark Mothersbaugh
  • 180 Gram Cocaine and Crystal Clear Colored Vinyl
  • Heavyweight Gatefold Jackets
  • Design and Layout by Matt Needle
  • 12″×12″ Insert


Waxwork Records in partnership with Back Lot Music is thrilled to release COCAINE BEAR Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Music by Mark Mothersbaugh!

Directed by Elizabeth Banks and inspired by the 1985 true story of a drug runner’s plane crash, missing cocaine, and the black bear that ate it, this wild dark comedy finds an oddball group of cops, criminals, tourists and teens converging in a Georgia forest where a 500- pound apex predator has ingested a staggering amount of cocaine and gone on a coke-fueled rampage for more blow … and blood.

About the composer:

Mark Mothersbaugh is a Grammy, BAFTA, and Emmy nominated composer, producer, designer, and visual artist whose work has become part of the pop culture consciousness. He started his career as co-creator and front man for the seminal New Wave band DEVO. Their Brian Eno/David Bowie-produced debut album “Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo” was certified Gold before their hit album “Freedom of Choice” went Platinum.

For Cocaine Bear, Mothersbaugh wanted a score that reflected and captured the culture of the ’80s, with a personality that evolved as the decade’s music evolved. “At the beginning of the film, it starts out very pop,” Mothersbaugh says. “But as it goes through it, it gets heavier. The guitars change up from being acoustic and lighter to being distorted and more aggressive and there are synths throughout that provide a pulse that keeps things moving.”

To make it as authentic as possible, Mothersbaugh used the instruments that created some of the most distinctive and memorable sounds of the ’80s music scene. “Once we decided we were going to let it soak a bit in an ’80s sound, I went to the warehouse where I store equipment and my old Devo road cases full of synths,” Mothersbaugh says. “I pulled out old synths that we used on albums in the ’80s and used the same synths and a lot of the same amps and foot pedals.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Kristoffer and Elsa Hike
  • 2 Bear Attack
  • 3 Bathroom Fight
  • 4 Up and Down a Tree
  • 5 Bear on the Roof
  • 6 Bob Arrives
  • 7 No Entry… Bear
  • 8 Bob Finds Gazebo
  • 9 Bob Shoots Daveed
  • 10 Cokey Falls Asleep
  • 11 Bear Dance
  • 12 Bad Cop and Butterfly
  • 13 Waterfall
  • 14 Cliffside Confrontation
  • 15 Cokey Comes Alive
  • 16 Bros
  • 17 Rosette/Wrap Up