Home    Chet Baker & Crew

Chet Baker & Crew

Chet Baker & Crew

Pure Pleasure


2LP Black $50
  • Recorded at the Forum Theater in Los Angeles on July 24, 25 and 31, 1956


The numbers heard on Chet Baker & Crew were among a prolific flurry of recordings Baker was involved in during the last week of July 1956 — fresh from an extended European stay. The crew on these sides includes Phil Urso (tenor sax), Bobby Timmons (piano), Jimmy Bond (bass), Peter Littman (drums), and of course Baker (trumpet/vocals). Joining the combo on both the original as well as the alternate take of “To Mickey’s Memory” and “Pawnee Junction” is Bill Loughbrough (chromatic tympani).

His unmistakable percussive accents and tuned drum solos give these West Coast bop tracks uniquely Polynesian intonations. The band members take full advantage of their individual roles and abilities as soloists to really stretch out on “Slightly Above Moderate” and the Urso-credited composition “Halema” — named after Baker’s wife. The chemistry of cool that flows between Urso and Baker is perhaps at its finest during the seamless exchange heard on “Worryin’ the Life Out of Me.” Timmons also boasts notable contributions throughout. His playful and scampering style dresses up the bluesy “Lucius Lu” and “Line for Lyons,” among others. The latter is also notable as it contains the sole Baker vocal on this set.

This LP reissue of Chet Baker & Crew increases the original eight-song Pacific Jazz collection to include all 14 tracks completed during three sessions in late July 1956 at the Forum Theater in Los Angeles. By Lindsay Planer/AMG.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 To Mickey's Memory
  • 2 Slightly Above Moderate
  • 3 Halema
  • 4 Revelation
  • 5 Something For Liza
  • 6 Lucius Lu
  • 7 Worrying The Life Out Of Me
  • 8 Medium Rock
  • 9 To Mickey's Memory (Alternate Take)
  • 10 Jumpin' Off A Clef
  • 11 Chippyin'
  • 12 Pawnee Junction
  • 13 Music To Dance By
  • 14 Line For Lyons