Home    Cassette Beasts (Original Game Soundtrack)

Joel Baylis

Cassette Beasts (Original Game Soundtrack)
2LP Multicolor $35
Cassette Tape $15
Cassette Tape Red $15
  • Available in two formats: Double LP and Cassette
  • Original artwork by Sami Briggs
  • Double LP on purple & mint green vinyl with gatefold cover
  • Transparent purple cassette tape
  • Remastered for vinyl and cassette tape by Christian Bethge


The monster-collecting open-world RPG “Cassette Beasts” is delivering a furious 80’s synth rock meets British indie soundtrack composed by Joel Baylis and featuring shooting star Shelby Harvey on vocals. This soundtrack is taking you on a journey across the mysterious island of New Wirral – from lo-fi acoustic ballads to all-out headbangers!

By the way, welcome to New Wirral, a remote island inhabited by strange creatures you’ve only dreamed of, nightmares you hopefully haven’t, and a cast of brave folks who use cassette tapes to transform for battle. To find a way home you’ll need to explore every inch of the island, and record monsters to your trusty cassette tapes to gain their abilities!

Joel Baylis shares a brief insight into his vision for the soundtrack and the outcomes: “My goal when writing the music for ‘Cassette Beasts‘ was to make something that felt somewhere between a role-playing game soundtrack and an 80’s synth rock album. Despite its influences, I feel like it ended up being rather unique. It’s quite hard to pin a genre onto these tracks and the collection itself varies greatly in vibes as well as styles.”

Baylis is also enthusiastic about the physical release of the “Cassette Beasts” soundtrack on beautiful purple and mint green coloured double vinyl: “The LP contains the best of each aspect of the game’s soundtrack, thoughtfully put together to offer something that will look great in your collection, and sound great under the needle.” And while the entire game is revolving around cassettes, Black Screen Records are sure taking care of this with a limited tape edition. You’re all backed-up for the monster hunt!

The “Cassette Beasts” soundtrack is not only a must for indie gamers but also for fans of artists like CHVRCHES and everyone who’s into the 80‘s synth sound.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Title Theme
  • 2 Cross Your Heart
  • 3 Victory Theme
  • 4 Wherever We Are Now
  • 5 Kayleigh's Theme
  • 6 Eugene's Theme
  • 7 Meredith's Theme
  • 8 Same Old Story
  • 9 Shot in the Dark
  • 10 Face Down
  • 11 Felix's Theme
  • 12 Viola's Theme
  • 13 Barkley's Theme
  • 14 Like Chimeras
  • 15 Deus Ex Calibur
  • 16 Arrow of Time
  • 17 By the Campfire
  • 18 New Wirral Park
  • 19 Jaunty Merchant Tune
  • 20 New Wirral (Night)
  • 21 The Mournchildren
  • 22 Autumn Hill
  • 23 The Stations Beneath
  • 24 Archangel Encounter
  • 25 The Amber Lodge
  • 26 Into the Caves
  • 27 Cherry Meadow
  • 28 Eastham Woods
  • 29 The Marshes
  • 30 Mt. Wirral
  • 31 Night's Bridge Station
  • 32 Goodbyes
  • 33 Credits