Home    Blues For Gassman (RSD 2023 EU/UK Exclusive)

Basso Valdambrini

Blues For Gassman (RSD 2023 EU/UK Exclusive)
LP Black $13 $29
  • Record Store Day 2023 (UK & EUROPE) exclusive release
  • All tracks recorded in 1959 and 1960
  • First time on vinyl


The most valuable of Gürtler’s jewels came from the jazz world. Gürtler donated all his passion and expertise to jazz, financing every project without complaints. The jewel in the crown of his productions was the LPJ5007 album (Basso-Valdambrini Octet), considered by critics the best one ever published in Italy till that moment. The record’s selection, to which also Gürtler took part, leaned towards the classic themes of the American repertoire, but was also oriented to unpublished recordings interpreted in the “West Coast” style.

The tracks of the album were recorded in 1959 and 1960, with a striking team: Gianni Basso (tenor sax), Oscar Valdambrini (trumpet), Attilio Donadio and Glauco Masetti (alto sax), Lars Gullin (baritone sax), Mario Pezzotta (trombone), Renato Sellani (piano), Franco Cerri (bass), Jimmy Pratt (drums).
The arrangements were entrusted to the Swedish Lars Gullin, the Italian Piero Umiliani and the Swiss George Gruntz. “Blues for Gassman” was the theme song of the famous film “I soliti ignoti” by Mario Monicelli. Gürtler personally followed all the stages of the recording and was delighted at the progress made day by day. The final result was a masterpiece.

In 2003, in order to satisfy collectors’ requests, SAAR Records released two CDs under the GMG label (CD43106 and CD43107) that included all the tracks recorded by Basso and Valdambrini for the Jolly label. Now, on the occasion of Record Store Day 2023, SAAR Records reissues for the first time the tracks included in the above mentioned CD43106 on a vinyl limited edition, with audio transferred from the analog master tapes.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Fata Morgana
  • 2 Fascinating Rhythm
  • 3 Blues For Gassman
  • 4 How About You?
  • 5 Peter of April
  • 6 There Will Never Be Another You
  • 7 How Deep Is The Ocean
  • 8 Autumn Leaves (foglie morte)
  • 9 Crazy Rhythm
  • 10 But Not For Me
  • 11 Guess Who
  • 12 I Should Care
  • 13 Il Grimmo