Home    Blue Hills

 Michael Hurley

Blue Hills

Mississippi Records


LP Black $18
  • Originally released in 2010
  • Pressed on Black Vinyl
  • Folk + Lo-Fi


A sustained feeling of loss & need for redemption haunts this record. It ain't easy listening, but then what worth a damn is? Includes insert with Michael’s notes on the songs and some artwork.

Artist Bio

If you haven’t been following his career since the 1970’s (when he was collaborating with the likes of the Holy Modal Rounders and Jesse Colin Young) then you probably discovered him in the past couple of years via Devendra Banhart’s & Andy Cabic’s label Gnomonsong, who have released Hurley’s recent recordings.

Hurley’s debut album, First Songs, was recorded for Folkways Records in 1965 on the same reel-to-reel machine that taped Lead Belly’s Last Sessions. He was discovered by blues and jazz historian Frederick Ramsey III, and subsequently championed by boyhood friend Jesse Colin Young, who released Hurley’s next two album on The Youngbloods’ Warner Brother’s imprint, Raccoon. How’s that for cred?

In the 1970s, Hurley made three albums for Rounder Records; Have Moicy! (1975), Long Journey (1976), and Snockgrass (1980) which after being out of print for decades are now being reissued on Light In The Attic Records.

In recent years, tours with Son Volt and high praise from younger performers like Lucinda Williams, Vic Chesnutt, Calexico, and Cat Power, have increased Hurley’s legend.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 In The Morning
  • 2 Help Me To Get Rid Of Her / How Sweet I Roamed
  • 3 The Corridor
  • 4 Shockoe Bottom
  • 5 Meara O'Reilly
  • 6 Tea