Home    Agape-Agape Love-Love

Popol Vuh

Agape-Agape Love-Love

One Way Static


LP Black $15 $25
  • Out of Print since 1983 & first ever vinyl release outside of Europe
  • Comes with exclusive bonus track
  • Comes with insert & extensive liner notes
  • Strictly limited to 700 copies worldwide (black vinyl)
  • Exclusive color vinyl variant
  • Available on black vinyl with insert/liner notes (#700 copies)


Born as Florian Fricke’s brainchild, Popol Vuh needs little introduction, the band stayed active between the late 1960s & late 1990s (until Florian’s passing in 2001).

Regarded as pioneers in avant-garde German electronic music, their early works practically laid down the foundations for ‘Kosmische Muzik’ (Space Music) with the then new sounds of the Moog synthesizer joined with ethnic percussions.
Later the group evolved to include all kinds of instruments (both electric and acoustic alike) shrouding their music in a spiritual & introspective mystical aura. Popol Vuh influenced many other European bands with their uniquely soft but elaborate instrumentation, which took inspiration from the music of Tibet, Africa and pre-Columbian America. With music sometimes described as “ethereal”, they created soundscapes through psychedelic walls of sound, and are regarded as precursors of contemporary ‘world music’, as well as of ‘new age’ and ‘ambient’.

Popol Vuh regularly contributed soundtracks to the films of Werner Herzog that include classics like ‘Aguirre’, ‘Nosferatu’, ‘Heart Of Glass’ & ‘Cobra Verde’.

‘Agape-Love’ was one of Florian Fricke’s favorites, at a point in his life where he was inspired by 13th century Persian poet Rumi. Still utilizing a choir for Gregorian chant-like ethereal intensity — though they sing in Byzantine scales – the band delves deeply into the drone world of Fricke’s sacred music muse. This is an album of many moods/feelings & is a worthy, devastatingly beautiful outing (both introspective & intense at the same time).

Out of print since 1983 and never released outside of Europe, now back available as a gorgeously packaged deluxe vinyl edition. Strictly limited to 700 copies (black vinyl), this release also comes with an exclusive bonus track & an insert with extensive liner notes. Next to the black vinyl pressing, a color vinyl variant (#300 copies) will also be made available exclusively through Light In The Attic & Mondo in North America and through Transmission Records in Europe.


Preview Tracklist

  • Hand In Hand
  • They Danced, They Laughed, As Of Old
  • Love, Life, Death
  • The Christ Is Near
  • Love-Love
  • Behold, The Drover Summonds
  • Agape-Agape
  • Why Do I Still Sleep
  • Circledance (bonus track)