Home    A Symphonic Celebration

Joe Hisaishi

A Symphonic Celebration

Deutsche Grammophon


2LP Clear $85
2LP Blue $85
2LP Picture Disc $85
  • Recorded in London by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conducted by Joe Hisaishi Spotlight on his Studio Ghibli hits
  • Newly arranged by Hisaishi for symphony orchestra
  • All tracks previously unreleased
  • Available in Three Formats: Limited Clear 2LP, Limited Sky Blue 2LP, and Limited Picture 2LP


For his first album on Deutsche Grammophon, Joe Hisaishi, the revered Japanese composer whose work has become synonymous with the magical Studio Ghibli animations of director Hayao Miyazaki has created an exciting series of symphonic arrangements of his original soundtracks for such Ghibli classics as Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke and My neighbor Totoro. Fittingly titled A Symphonic Celebration, it presents state-of-the-art recordings of his extraordinary work for this much-loved artistic force in animated movie-making. Recorded in London by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by the composer, its tracks are newly arranged by Hisaishi for symphony orchestra and features Grace Davidson, Avi Avital, Bach Choir and Stephen Morris.

Hisaishi ranks among Japan’s greatest composers of all time and is famed worldwide for his collaborative work with Oscar-winning director, animator and Studio Ghibli founder Hayao Miyazaki. Their creative partnership began in 1984 with the post-apocalyptic anime feature Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind and has since developed to the point that they are now likened to other legendary director-composer pairings, including Hitchcock and Herrmann, Fellini and Rota, Leone and Morricone, and Spielberg and Williams. Indeed, Hisaishi’s reputation has been secured by the fact that his soundtracks have won eight Japanese Academy Awards, an unprecedented achievement. He is equally acknowledged, however, as a conductor and as a composer of contemporary classical music, much of it minimalistic and experimental in nature, like that of friends and colleagues such as Philip Glass, Terry Riley and Nico Muhly.

Artist Bio

Preview Tracklist

  • 2 KIKI’S DELIVERY SERVICE(「魔女の宅急便」より)
  • 3 PRINCESS MONONOKE(「もののけ姫」より)
  • 4 THE WIND RISES(「風立ちぬ」より)
  • 5 PONYO ON THE CLIFF BY THE SEA(「崖の上のポニョ」より)
  • 6 CASTLE IN THE SKY(「天空の城ラピュタ」より)
  • 7 PORCO ROSSO(「紅の豚」より)
  • 8 HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE(「ハウルの動く城」より)
  • 9 SPIRITED AWAY(「千と千尋の神隠し」より)
  • 10 MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO(「となりのトトロ」より