Home    1969

Gabor Szabo




LP Black $28
CD $14
  • The long awaited reissue of one of the bests albums of rare Eastern and psychedelic Jazz by the famous Hungarian guitarist
  • Carefully remastered by prolific Grammy nominated sound engineer Jessica Thompson
  • For fans of Grant Green, John Abercrombie, Pat Martino, Joe Pass, Wes Montgomery, Tal Farlow
  • Ultimate collector’s item for those who are deeply in Jazz and guitar music
  • Available on limited CD and VINYL with original artworks


Ebalunga!!! is coming back with a new long-awaited reissue of LP by the famous Hungarian guitarist, originally released in 1969.

Deluxe 6-sided Digipak CD with a booklet and Gatefold Vinyl comes with long, exclusively written inner notes by the famous researcher and biographer Douglas Payne.

Gabor Szabo exploded onto the American jazz scene in the early sixties. His unusual approach and unique sound brought something startling and new to jazz. With Chico Hamilton, Charles Lloyd and Gary McFarland, Szabo offered something few in jazz had ever heard before: guitarist as enchanter and conjurer and musician as storyteller and mesmerist.

Once Szabo declared his independence in 1966, he also proved how seamlessly jazz can blend the Beatles and Bacharach with Latin and Indian styles. The guitarist released a string of albums on Impulse that challenged many assumptions about jazz and stand out today as some of the most radical, yet appealing music of the period.

But the times were woefully a-changing. Szabo biographer Károly Libisch considers the year 1969 a “turning point” for the guitarist. The spell Szabo weaved in the press was beginning to wane. The blizzard of coverage he generated in the previous few years began to trickle off. Perhaps the rise of rock – and rock-guitar heroes – tamped down the guitarist’s exotic allure and faddish charm.

Then, too, Szabo’s erratic behavior started attracting poor notices and hastened the demise of his storied quintet, featuring guitarist Jimmy Stewart and percussionist Hal Gordon, in late 1968. Now, both Gabor Szabo, the artist and businessman, needed a hit. 1969 was his response to the call of 1969.

The album was released in August 1969, initial reviews were positive. Cash Box raved that Gabor Szabo 1969 “is magnificent music, and an album that deserves great success” while Record World called it “luscious guitaring” that features “lots of contemporary material, which he makes completely his own.”
Gabor Szabo 1969 never did find the success it was seeking. But it remains a lovely listening experience that finds the guitarist at his melodic best at an important crossroads in his recording career.

Artist Bio

A tireless innovator, the famed guitarist’s distinctive compositions incorporated a range of styles. Szabo created songs that were cutting-edge, producing evocative music from a number of disparate sources – jazz and rock fused with hints of his native Hungary, as well as Indian, Asian and Latin traditions. Aside from a stint at the Berklee College of Music in the late 1950s, Szabo was largely self-taught, and this solitary training imbued him with a penchant for independent thinking, helping to shape his experimental style. During the 1960s, Szabo played with the likes of the avant-garde Chico Hamilton quintet, the Gary McFarland quintet, and the Charles Lloyd quartet. His solo work, along with the quintet he formed in the late 1960s, expanded upon his push-the-boundaries style. Despite his impressive output, Szabo is perhaps best known for his song “Gypsy Queen,” which was reinterpreted by Carlos Santana into his hit “Black Magic Woman.” Szabo was just 45 when he died in 1982, but his artistry and creativity remain standards for inventive, original musicianship.

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Dear Prudence (John Lennon, Paul McCartney)
  • 2 Sealed With a Kiss (Peter Udell, Gary Geld)
  • 3 Both Sides Now (Joni Mitchell)
  • 4 Walk Away Renee (Michael Brown, Bob Calilli, Tony Sansone)
  • 5 You Won't See Me (Lennon, McCartney)
  • 6 Michael from Mountains (Joni Mitchell)
  • 7 Stormy (Buddy Buie, James Cobb)
  • 8 In My Life (Lennon, McCartney)
  • 9 I’ve Just Seen a Face (Lennon, McCartney)
  • 10 Until It's Time for You to Go (Buffy Sainte-Marie)
  • 11 Somewhere I Belong (Gábor Szabó)