Home    Label: Everland Music    Dawn Of The Yugoslavian Prog-Rock Era: Unreleased Radio Recordings 1970-1976

Marin Skrgatic

Dawn Of The Yugoslavian Prog-Rock Era: Unreleased Radio Recordings 1970-1976

Everland Music

Everland-YU 006 LP

LP Black $22
  • First progressive rock arrangements recorded in Yugoslavia
  • Unreleased chronology from Croatia’s unsung rock hero (70-76)
  • Detailed liner notes on the evolution of the Marin Škrgatić Group
  • Fully licensed from the vaults of Croatian Radio Television
  • Remastered from original master tapes


Another lost musical treasure unearthed by the Everland-YU imprint! Seven years have passed since this material landed in our hands and we counted the days since we could give it the justice it deserves. Fully licensed and remastered from original master tapes, this chronologically arranged LP is a collection of previously unreleased radio recordings all of which have one thing in common: the unmistakably original musical ideas and vocal performances of Marin Škrgatić (1950-2014). Marin was a Croatian prog-rock pioneer, who as a result of a series of unfortunate circumstances, did not receive much recognition in the dawn of the Yugoslavian prog-rock era. In their prime, his groups were an active and well-acknowledged underground phenomenon, filling stadiums and music halls all over Yugoslavia. This material represents some of the first attempts to record complex progressive rock arrangements in Yugoslavia – sourcing heavily from local folk music, jazz, and classical influences. Interestingly enough, most of the songs presented here were dismissed as being too progressive at that time – by the largest Yugoslavian record company Jugoton. This gatefold LP includes thus far unpublished photos and detailed liner notes about the evolution of Marin’s groups resulting from interviews with former band members with whom we’ve uncovered some of the mysteries of Yugo-prog-rock’s annals.

Release editor, liner notes, research: Dr. Smeđi Šećer

Mastered by: Višeslav Laboš

Preview Tracklist

  • 1 Soul Sound Band - Ljubavna pjesma
  • 2 Grupa Škrgatić - Tarbuk - Uzmi riječi
  • 3 Grupa Škrgatić - Tarbuk - Prvi put
  • 4 Grupa Škrgatić - Tarbuk - Trenutak jedne misli
  • 5 Grupa Marina Škrgatića I - Bumbarov pjev
  • 6 Grupa Marina Škrgatića II - Prirodi
  • 7 Grupa Marina Škrgatića II - Čežnja (Alternate take)
  • 8 Grupa Marina Škrgatića III - Karneval
  • 9 Grupa Marina Škrgatića III - Rastanak
  • 10 Grupa Marina Škrgatića IV - Tko remeti tvoj mir
  • 11 Grupa Marina Škrgatića IV - Prijateljstvo