Sweet Tea
Light In The Attic 10 Year Anniversary: Wendy Rene "After Laughter (Comes Tears)"

Light In The Attic

LITA 45-022

Celebrating Light In The Attic’s 10 year anniversary in 2012, we are releasing a series of very special colored vinyl 7”s and digital downloads. The series features contemporary artists covering a track reissued by Light In The Attic on the A-side, plus the original version on the B-side.

Alex Maas of the Black Angels, Erika Wennerstrom / Jesse Ebaugh of Heartless Bastards, and Robb Kidd (under the band name Sweet Tea) cover Wendy Rene’s ‘After Laughter Comes Tears’, preserving its creepy organ and tortured soul but adding deep bass and raw power. Rene’s original – beloved of Wu Tang Clan, who sampled it on ‘Tearz’ – was one of a handful of timeless soul songs she recorded with The Drapels and solo for Stax before retiring prematurely to raise a family.

A side is produced by Alex Maas / Brett Orrison and recorded at Out The Woodwork Studios, Austin, TX, July 2012. B side features the original Wendy Rene version as remastered by John Baldwin for our anthology “After Laughter Comes Tears: Complete Stax & Volt Singles + Rarities 1964-1965”.

  • Limited edition 7" series on purple vinyl with custom LITA juke-box style sleeve in a poly bag with custom die-cut sticker.
  • Other artists in the series include Iggy Pop & Zig Zags covering Betty Davis, Mark Lanegan covering Karen Dalton, and Charles Bradley & The Menahan Street Band covering Rodriguez. More releases in the series to be announced.
  • Design by Henry Owings, Chunklet Graphic Control.
  • Artist illustrations by Drew Christie.

You might also enjoy:

  • Thumb_92_lita45-020
  • Thumb_92_lita_045-21
  • Thumb_92_lita45-025
  • Thumb_92_wendyrene_cover_325
  • Thumb_92_passover_cover
  • Thumb_92_ba_ghost_hires_cover
  • Thumb_92_balita066_2up