Iggy Pop & Zig Zags
Light In The Attic 10 Year Anniversary: Betty Davis "If I'm In Luck I Might Get Picked Up"

Light In The Attic

LITA 45-020

Celebrating Light In The Attic’s 10 year anniversary in 2012, we are releasing a series of very special colored vinyl 7”s and digital downloads. The series features contemporary artists covering a track reissued by Light In The Attic on the A-side, plus the original version on the B-side.

To launch the series, we asked Los Angeles-based scuzzy punks Zig Zags, whose debut 7" came out on Mexican Summer earlier this year, to team up with legendary punk rock icon Iggy Pop (yes, THAT Iggy Pop!). With this, we give you Iggy Pop and Zig Zags’ take on Betty Davis’ “If I’m In Luck I Might Get Picked Up” from her self-titled debut album (LITA 026).

Digging deep into the grooves of the original, Zig Zags discovered a secret heavy Sabbath vibe lurking just below the funk surface. Mixing that with their usual sludge-punk leanings, the god-like Iggy Pop was brought in to sing. A natural choice.

A side was recorded by Dan Horne (Beachwood Sparks), mixed by Thom Monahan (Vetiver, Pernice Bros, Devendra Banhart), and mastered by Dave Cooley (Elysian Masters). B side features the original Dave Cooley remastering from 2007.

Zig Zags:
Facebook Page

  • Limited edition 7" series on puke-green vinyl with custom LITA juke-box style sleeve in a poly bag with custom die-cut sticker.
  • Other artists in the series include Mark Lanegan covering Karen Dalton, Charles Bradley & The Menahan Street Band covering Rodriguez and Sweet Tea (feat. Alex Maas of the Black Angels & Erika Wennerstrom of the Heartless Bastards) covering Wendy Rene. More releases in the series to be announced.
  • Design by Henry Owings, Chunklet Graphic Control.
  • Artist illustrations by Drew Christie.

You might also enjoy:

  • Thumb_92_lita45-022
  • Thumb_92_lita45-025
  • Thumb_92_lita_045-21
  • Thumb_92_bettydavis-bettydavis-cover
  • Thumb_92_release-test-image
  • Thumb_92_monks
  • Thumb_92_shinjoonghyun_325