Karen Dalton
In My Own Time

Light In The Attic

LITA 022

Recorded over a six month period in 1970/71 at Bearsville, In My Own Time was Daltons only fully planned and realized studio album. The material was carefully selected and crafted for her by producer/musician Harvey Brooks, the Renaissance man of rock-jazz who played bass on Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited and Miles’ Bitches Brew. It features ten songs that reflected Daltons incredible ability to break just about anybodys heart – from her spectral evocation of Joe Tates “One Night of Love”, to the dark tragedy of the traditional “Katie Cruel”. Known as a great interpreter of choice material, Dalton could master both country and soul genres with hauntingly pining covers of George Jones “Take Me” and Holland-Dozier-Hollands “How Sweet It Is”.

You might also enjoy:

  • Thumb_92_coming_from_realitycoverlrg
  • Thumb_92_hard_to_tell_cover_large
  • Thumb_92_k_kristofferson_hi-res_cover
  • Thumb_92_janebirkin_didoodah
  • Thumb_92_de13_cover
  • Thumb_92_karen_cover_thumb_325