Attention International Consumers: We are experiencing difficulty with our First Class Mail options. For international orders with only 1-3 items (cassette, CD, or LP) - After your order is placed, please email [email protected] with your nine-digit order confirmation number to confirm shipping details. We will adjust the shipping when applicable. Thanks for your support!

Teresa Bright

Blue Skies

Release Notes
  • Modern vocal jazz from beloved Hawaiian jazz singer, Teresa Bright
  • Limited to 400 copies worldwide
  • The latest release from Bright, whose career began in 1983 with Catching A Wave (AGS-038)
    * Timeless arrangements perfectly suited for Bright’s sultry voice
  • Backed by Hawaii jazz studio veterans like Dean Taba and Noel Okimoto
Blue Skies
1 of 3
Blue Skies
2 of 3
Blue Skies
3 of 3

In 2005, acclaimed Hawaiian singer Teresa Bright — whose recording debut, Catching A Wave, was reissued by Aloha Got Soul in 2020 — recorded a jazz-tinted album with pianist/engineer Kit Ebersbach. The project brought to to life Bright’s favorite standard songs alongside tunes that feel expressly written for her sultry voice. The singer’s original composition, “Sp-r-ing”, fits right at home in the collection. These recordings patiently sat on Ebersbach’s hard drive for 15 years until 2020, when Aloha Got Soul released the album digitally. The vinyl is scheduled for release on February 25, 2022.

In December 2020, Bright received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Hawai’i Academy of Recording Arts. The award came following a lifelong career spanning more than a dozen albums, numbers Na Hoku Hanohano awards, countless songwriting, arranging, and producing credits, domestic and international concert performances, plus a long list of Hawaiian language translations for peers near and far. In anticipation of the awards ceremony, Ebersbach approach Aloha Got Soul with the suggestion to finally release Blue Skies, the 2005 jazz record they’d cut with studio veterans Dean Taba, Noel Okimoto, Rocky Holmes, Casey Olsen, and Sam Ahia, Jr. Together with the help of Bright’s partner, Derrick C.M. Llanos, we released ‘Blue Skies’ digitally in December 2020.

“Iʻm so glad we waited," said Ebersbach of the digital release in 2020. "There can be no better moment to do this than on this very day, commemorating her lifetime of making beautiful music.”

AGS-057 is a wonderful addition to the catalog of beautiful sounds that Bright has been singing since the beginning of her career, from Catching A Wave through today.