Attention International Consumers: We are experiencing difficulty with our First Class Mail options. For international orders with only 1-3 items (cassette, CD, or LP) - After your order is placed, please email [email protected] with your nine-digit order confirmation number to confirm shipping details. We will adjust the shipping when applicable. Thanks for your support!

Heads Funk Band

Hard World

Release Notes
  • Power funk from one of the most popular Nigerian Funk acts
  • For fans of Mother’s Finest, Mighty Flames, Betty Davis, Geraldo Pino, Funkadelic, Temptations
  • Filled to the last groove with catchy tunes that feature awesome harmonies
  • Killer fuzzed out lead guitars
  • An original affair for fans of groovy Nigerian afro funk
  • Excellent sound and performance by high class professional musicians
  • First ever rerelease on CD
  • Fully licensed
  • Remastered audio
  • CD housed in a rock solid jewel case
  • Ultimate collectors item for fans of classic afro funk.

Hard World is the first of three albums released by Heads Funk Band and it’s one of the most rare LPs coming from Nigeria. What we have here is a pure, well crafted Afro-Funk. Heads Funk Band is related to Akwassa, where both are two exceptional bands with the same members, but co-existed simultaneously featuring Felix Odey (Feladey) on guitar and Eddie Offeyi on drums. The original forming duo of Akwassa was Felix Day / Feladey (guitar, vocals) and Kevin Coburn (keyboards, synths, vocals), who collaborated with guest musicians, which later turned out to be the actual Heads Funk Band. Some rumours say all of them were in both bands and musically speaking we can hear a lot of similarities. Akwassa released two incredibly rare albums, while Heads Funk Band managed to release three LPs, of which Hard World is the most hard to find. All 5 albums will be reissued on PMG in 2016/17. Feel the beat!