Attention International Consumers: We are experiencing difficulty with our First Class Mail options. For international orders with only 1-3 items (cassette, CD, or LP) - After your order is placed, please email [email protected] with your nine-digit order confirmation number to confirm shipping details. We will adjust the shipping when applicable. Thanks for your support!

Blaze Foley

Lost Muscle Shoals Recordings

Release Notes
  • Recorded in 1984 at Broadway Sound Studio, Sheffield AL. Featuring the Muscle Shoals Horns, Gurf Morlix, Roger Clark, Clayton Ivey, John Willis, Cal Freeman, Ava Aldridge, Cindy Richardson & Lenny LeBlanc
  • Original liner notes by Townes Van Zandt
  • Digitally Remastered by Mark Hallman

Reissue of the first album recorded by the legendary Austin singer-songwriter who was tragically murdered in 1989. Recorded with Muscle Shoals studio musicians in 1984, the album was never distributed due to “some trouble with the law” resulting in the confiscation of most of the 500 copies originally pressed. These recordings find Blaze in a rare studio setting performing ten of his well-known compositions including the apparently timeless resistance song, Oval Room, originally written with Ronald Reagan in mind. The outstanding production values and musicianship breathe fresh air into these classic Blaze compositions. The original recordings have been digitally mastered by Austin engineer Mark Hallman.

Foley’s songs have been recorded by Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, John Prine, Lyle Lovett and others. Lucinda Williams’ “Drunken Angel,” and Townes Van Zandt’s “Blaze’s Blues,” personal tributes to their good friend Foley, have added to a legacy once nearly forgotten. A major motion picture on Blaze directed by Ethan Hawke is in production and scheduled for theatrical release in 2018.

Lost Art Records previously released five Foley albums including the soundtrack CD to the acclaimed Foley documentary, “Duct Tape Messiah” by filmmaker Kevin Triplett.