Fourth Of July:

The Light In The Attic warehouse will be closed for the 4th of July weekend from Friday, July 3rd through Sunday, July 5th. We will reopen at 9am on Monday, July 6th. We are having a 20% off all LITA and our imprint labels sale excluding preorder titles. Sale runs 4:30pm PST Thursday, July 2nd- 9am PST Monday, July 6th. Please anticipate longer times to ship your order due to the holiday and sale. Thanks for your business! Happy 4th!

Grateful Dead
One From The Vault: Live at the Great American Music Hall, San Francisco 8/13/75

Future Days Recordings

FDR 607

  • regular price $50 WISH

For a legacy filled with legendary performances, the Grateful Dead Live at the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco on August 13th 1975 stands out. The band only played 4 shows during that entire year! (Remarkable for a band that toured non-stop for decades) and at their August 13th show, they rolled multi-track tape (which allowed for the band decades later to properly mix the show).

Because the Great American Music Hall holds less than 1,000 people (another unique thing about this show), it was an invitation only performance in which the band debuted their recent studio album Blues For Allah in a live setting.

Although One From The Vault has been available on CD nearly continuously since 1991, the vinyl version was only available for less than a year (and in Europe only) in the early 1990’s. This deluxe vinyl reissue marks the first time this legendary show has been available anywhere in over 20 years and the first time in America.

Rolling Stone magazine has described One From The Vault as:

“The closest the Dead came in the Seventies to the band’s trippy, late-Sixties peak, and the performance indulged the group’s jazzy, free-form impulses even further. “Help on the Way,” “Franklin’s Tower” and “The Music Never Stopped” cohere into a twenty-minute song cycle. “King Solomon’s Marbles,” a tumbling, polyrhythmic instrumental by bassist Phil Lesh, crackles with energy. Inventive percussion duets by Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann are appended to “Eyes of the World,” as well as to the pretty, elliptical “Crazy Fingers.” The crowning touch is “Blues for Allah,” which runs 21 minutes and explores inner space with a meditative intensity barely hinted at on the studio version.”

- Back in print on vinyl after 22 years

- First ever American LP release

- Newly re-mastered by Joe Gastwirt

- Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray

You might also enjoy:

  • Thumb_92_release-test-image
  • Thumb_92_bobby_w_raw_velvet_fr001rprprp
  • Thumb_92_jimsullivan
  • Thumb_92_lita083_cover_hiresweb
  • Thumb_92_tmp_2f1413919316446-itceh72mezlzyqfr-540cb650f6cf00b10ea4e36677e670bf_2f0f129106f606045541ca682a2f18e885
  • Thumb_92_tmp_2f1425935640420-px4zxd3qvyrpb9-31e94488da056eb165c1f469012ac7c0_2ffdr%2b609gratefuldead_gatefold_out