Teo Laura Amao
El Sonido de la Carretera Central



Out of Stock Formats:

  • Original Release Date: May 28, 2013

Masstropicas brings you another installment from “the sound of the Carretera Central” with the king of that style, Teo Laura Amao. El Sonido de la Carretera Central brings 12 more rare essential tracks, spanning from 1973 to 1985, featuring various groups that Teo wrote and arranged songs for. Bands like Los Sanders, Los Blue Kings, Costa Azul, and of course, Los Jharis, with their hard rock and soul-influenced cumbia songs, are mainstays in the neighborhood known as ÑaÑa, as well as various other working class barrios in Lima, and Teo worked with all of them.

Compiled from various 45, LP and cassette releases, this is just the tip of the iceberg for the uninitiated. We’re sure this compilation will get you hooked on Teo’s unique guitar slinging and his often imitated but never equaled ‘estilo Carretera’.

  • Highlights from the 40+ year career of Teo Laura Amao
  • 12 songs never released outside of Peru
  • One time pressing of 500 LPs
  • Features full color 11 × 22 insert with never before seen photos & liner notes

You might also enjoy:

  • Thumb_92_tropic011_cover
  • Thumb_92_jharis-front-web
  • Thumb_92_grupo20001
  • Thumb_92_ranil_layout_1